Nancy A. Ross, RN Endowed Chair for Nursing

A year after being named a Magnet® hospital, Missouri Baptist continues to emphasize and cultivate nursing leadership by establishing the The Nancy A. Ross, RN Endowed Chair for Nursing.

“Our vision is for Missouri Baptist nurses to be unparalleled in their leadership and ability to transform our patients’ experiences through innovative patient- and family-centered care,” said Tim Mislan, Vice President of Patient Care Services & Chief Nursing Officer at Missouri Baptist. “When our nurses are empowered to use the full extent of their education and training, our patients directly benefit.”

The endowed chair is named for Nancy Ross who served the community as a registered nurse and continues to be a cherished supporter of Missouri Baptist nurses.

The endowment was announced during the hospital’s annual Nancy A. Ross, RN Excellence in Nursing Awards on May 5. The awards have been named in her honor have since 1998.

Donald and Nancy Ross contributed this gift to celebrate MoBap’s nurses and to help launch an effort for a series of donations from supporters in the community.

“I have had the privilege to know the passion and compassion that embodies the Missouri Baptist team,” said Donald Ross, Vice Chairman of Enterprise Holdings Inc. 

“Having seen loved ones receive the care of MoBap nurses, I know that investing in our community’s nurses directly benefits our community as a whole.” Mr. Ross is also former Chairman of the BJC HealthCare Board of Directors and current Vice Chairman of the Missouri Baptist Medical Center Board of Trustees.

Nancy A. Ross, RN Excellence in Nursing Awards

As part of MoBap’s 2017 Nurses Week celebration, the team hosted our annual Nancy A. Ross, RN Excellence in Nursing Awards. Nurses are able to nominate and recognize colleagues for their clinical excellence, compassion, leadership and teamwork, which improves the lives of our patients, family members and staff. Congratulations to all our nominees and winners!

Advancing the Profession of Nursing Award
Angie Kinser, Float Pool

Excellence in Nursing Practice Award
Sue Winkelmann, Operating Room

Excellence in Precepting Award
Laraine Sheahan, NICU

Excellence in Nursing Research/EBP Award
Cathy Dill & Jamie Wunderlich, NICU
"Towards Better Understanding of Premature Parenting: From Hospital to Home"

Excellence in Nursing Team

Rookie of the Year Award
Katie Grimshaw, NICU

Nursing Teamwork Award
Monique Stoves, Birth Certificate Clerk, Mother/Baby

Nursing Leadership & Mentoring Mildred Jo Lewis Award
Molly Richard, Perioperative Services

Nancy A. Ross, RN Patient Care Innovation award
Anna Griffith, Acute Rehab

Nancy A. Ross, RN Spirit of Nursing Management Award
Becky Hellrich, Professional Practice & Development

Magnet Designated

Journey to Magnet®

MoBap is proud to be the first in St. Louis County to be recognized as a Magnet® hospital, the highest credential a healthcare organization can receive for nursing excellence and quality patient care. Relive the anticipation and excitement as our team came together to listen to the phone call that made it official.

Copyright © 1997-2018 BJC HealthCare. All Rights Reserved.