Professional Nurse Development Program


The BJC Professional Nurse Development Program (PNDP), MoBap’s clinical ladder, promotes the lifelong pursuit of expertise of the clinical nurse. The overall goal of the program is to continue to provide high quality nursing care and opportunities for clinical nurses to experience professional growth and advancement.
The BJC PNDP is based on the work of Dr. Patricia Benner. In the BJC PNDP, all five of Benner’s levels of skill acquisition are recognized: novice, advanced beginner, competent, proficient, and expert. The criteria become progressively more complex and demanding as the level of expertise increases. Each level requires a defined amount of experience and knowledge.


Upon hire, all staff RN’s will be assigned a staff nurse level (SN) based on years of RN experience.  
After 12 months, advancement in the PNDP is available to nurses involved in direct patient care who have more than two years of RN experience.

Leadership/Professional Growth and Contribution Categories:

  • Academic Credit
  • Professional Publications 
  • Professional Presentations 
  • National Certification 
  • Mentorship
  • Leadership
  • Advanced Clinical Skills
  • Community Service
  • Advanced Degree 
Copyright © 1997-2018 BJC HealthCare. All Rights Reserved.